ProQuest® Congressional Help - Joint Committee
Send Feedback

Glossary Item Box

  • Print

Joint Committee

A committee composed of an equal number of members of both the House and the Senate. A joint committee may be investigative or research-oriented. As of 1993, only four joint committees remain: Joint Economic, Joint Taxation, Joint Library, and Joint Printing. None has the authority to report legislation. Standing joint committees are permanent joint committees established by law. The law fixes the number of the majority and minority members from each house.

Copyright © 2012  ProQuest LLC.  All rights reserved.

©2014. All Rights Reserved.